(T)Hat again

IMG_8830a

This is the first sewing project I am presenting here – and it is the first one for a very long time! I used to sew as a teenager and later a little bit on an off, but I did not touch a sewing pattern for over twenty years. While I was pregnant with my first boy six years ago I did sew two dresses, using a sewing machine a friend had found on the street (literally). Let’s just say this machine sewed…. and I didn’t have a pattern, I was basically cutting the dresses free hand. I did wear them, though. The fabrics I got from a great little store in Newark, NJ, they are really nice African prints and one day I think I will undo the dresses and transform them into something proper.

IMG_8838a

But today I wanted to show you the hat I made (I borrowed my neighbour’s sewing machine – Thank you!). Most hats are either too big or too short for my little one, so that they are either too loose or don’t cover forehead and ears. This pattern is great! It is an eBook from Klimperklein. I made the hat 1cm longer. The fabric outside is stretch jersey and inside sweat, both from a local fabric store. Would I sew it again? Bet ya!

Leave a Reply

