Socks

2013.06.21.Taormina.070a

My first pair of socks! I started knitting socks in the lag of warm weather (cold, grey, rain, so not spring) – socks can never be wrong, can they? Although I did a fair bit of knitting over the years, for some reason, I never knitted socks. So while being cold, busy with visitors and not having enough time to sit down to a big project I dug out a ball of sock yarn, got myself needles and started on a pair of socks. In search of instructions how to knit socks I remembered this old book:

Werkbuch

“Crafting book for girls” from the fifties. I received this book when I was a child from an aunt and since then it collected dust in a far corner of our bookshelf, almost forgotten. Sure enough it contains a chapter about knitting socks. And how about sewing stuffed animals, weaving baskets or building small furniture? I will keep this book handy from now on!

Socks

Yarn: TOFUtsies of SWTC (50% superwash wool, 25% SOYSILK brand fiber, 22.5% cotton, 2.5% Chitin, made from shrimp and crab shell!). I bought it several years ago in a store in Montclair, NJ.

Needles: 2.75 (US 2)

Pattern: cast on 64 stitches; 16 rows 2k, 2p; then stockinette. Heel: knit 27 rows; German heel with 11/10/11 stitches. Gusset: Take up the sides of the heel (14 stitches on each side), decrease 2  every third row. Toe cap: Here I followed the instructions of Hermione’s Everyday Socks: decreasing four stitches (ssk 1 stitch at the end of needle 1 and 3 and k2tog at the beginning of needle 2 and 4, knitting the last and first stitch, respectively) on row 1, 4, 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19 and closing the last 24 loops using the Kitchener technique.

Leave a Reply

