Short Juist

juist_short

I finally managed to finish a sewing project again (apart from doing lots of mending). My older boy is in desparate need of shorts and I finally managed to finish a pair for him (it took me quite a bit of persuasion to have him pose for me – the shorts are better fitting in real life…). I used again the pattern Juist, but this time I made this pants in short form (the first and long version is here). The fabric is a lovely thick cotton from hilco. I realized only while sewing that the fabric has a stretch horizontally, and I would have preferred it without stretch, but the fabric feels great.

juist_short_2

This time I made the elastic in the waist adjustable. In the original pattern the waistband is one long piece that gets longitudinally folded and attached, and the elastic is inserted before the waistband is fully closed. Here I cut the waistband along the longitudinal fold, which yields an inside and outside piece. The inside piece I divided further into three pieces, cutting it where the elastic should enter the waistband. Then I added seam allowance to all edges and sewed the waistband back together, leaving openings for the elastic. Because my son always complaints that the folded over elastic and buttons hurt him, I covered the parts where the elastic enters the waistband with an extra piece of fabric, which can be opened and closed via snap fasteners. I don’t think that this is the best solution, though. Has anyone experience with adjustable elastic and how to hide it?

Fabric: Cotton with horizontal stretch from hilco.

Pattern: Juist Cargohose from Schnittreif bought at farbenmix, size 110-116. I made the following alterations: I made it as shorts, only using the upper leg parts. The waistband is composed of four pieces to allow for the elastic to be adjustable (see description above).

This blogpost is my contribution to Made4BOYS!

Leave a Reply

