Play Suit

IMG_9623a

I was sorting through my husband’s t-shirts yesterday. Yes, I wanted to get some order into his things, that too, but I admit that the real reason was that I wanted to find some old t-shirts for a project I had in mind.  The old t-shirts I found were some much loved graphical shirts from long ago summer schools he had been to, but they were not suitable for my project. So, I reconsidered and converted one of the t-shirts into a play suit for our younger son (which made it much easier for my husband to say good-bye to them…).

Luckily I still had enough cuff fabric and matching thread in a nice contrasting red. The pattern was quickly found and traced and the pieces cut, maneuvering around the existing holes. Since I don’t have an overlocker I closed all seams using my normal sewing machine and a simple zig-zag stitching. I first closed the seam using a very narrow zig-zag and then secured the seam allowance with a large zig-zag top stitching. I had a bit of trouble with those buttons – it was the first time I was using them and it took me quite a few trials until they where acceptable.

playsuit

Overall I am quite happy with the outcome. The fit is not as perfect as I would have liked (too large arm holes, too long legs), but other than that I like how the two colors came together and the pictures became part to the design.

Pattern: Ottobre 3/2013 Nr. 2 with modifications: no pockets.

Fabric: Old t-shirt, cuff fabric from my stash.

Will I sew it again? Yes, but with some fitting modifications: smaller arm wholes, shorter legs.

This blogpost  is my contribution to Made4BOYS!

Update: because he is wearing this suit for the first time today (Monday, August 5), I will also show it at my kid wears!

4 thoughts on “Play Suit

Leave a Reply

