Lace shawl

2015.01.01.NewYear.045s

Yeah! Finally! After almost two years of knitting I finished this lace shawl. I gave it as a gift to my mom. It was my first attempt at knitting lace. Thanks to the wealth of online tutorials I learned a few new stitches – I am usually a somewhat “wild” knitter and improvise usually a lot along the way. This was one rare occasion where I had to follow a detailed pattern – and I enjoyed it!

2015.01.01.NewYear.049s

What did not work out well for me was the edge of the shawl. It was to tight compared to the pattern and I should have knitted it more loose.

2015.01.01.NewYear.052s

And when finishing the shawl I overdid it there and finished it too loose. So the whole think is a bit out of shape and not the perfect triangle. But hey, it keeps my mom warm and toasty!

Yarn:  A lovely wool-silk-mohair mix (I can’t find the paper band anymore).

Needles: 3.5 mm

Pattern: Wiebkes Lieblingstuch but I did not add the border.

Would I do it again? I want to learn more lace to next time I will be another pattern.

This is a contribution to Creadienstag.

This post first appeared on tamtamtiger.wordpress.com.

One thought on “Lace shawl

Leave a Reply

