Tablecloth-Skirt

IMG_2314s

My oldest son’s passion are marionettes. His stories typically revolve around princesses, kings, a fakir and his snake, and their fight against evil. For the costumes and stage decorations he uses all scraps of fabric I can (and sometimes rather not) spare. Recently, I took him along to a local thrift store so he could look around for things to use in his play. We went home with a bag full of treasures – not only for him. I found a beautiful round blueprint tablecloth.

IMG_2320s

I immediately remembered the full circle skirts Frau Kirsche made from round tablecloths (unfortunately, she closed down her blog, but she published a tutorial here)!

IMG_2324s

Following her instructions, this is how I made my skirt:

  1. I measured my waist, and cut a hole with the same circumference in the middle, with seam allowance added. I stitched a supporting seam around the hole. Note to self: instead of cutting a perfect circle, I should have followed the pattern – now the waistline doesn’t look very even.
  2. I divided the the cut-out circle into stripes and made from it the outside of the waistband. For the inside I used a piece of blue cotton fabric from my stash.
  3. The tablecloth did have a seam across, which means it was made from two half circles. I opened the seam a bit on one side of the cut-out hole to insert an invisible zip.
  4. Despite careful measurements and calculations, the skirt turned out to be a bit too wide. So I inserted additionally an elastic band into the waistband, so that the skirt doesn’t fall off my hips.

And thats my long full circle summer skirt – right on time for the beginning of summer – and finished thanks to the Sommer-Rock Sew-Along of Meike and Lucy on the MeMadeMittwoch blog! It is nice and airy and a perfect hiding place for small (and not so small) children.

IMG_2322s

Pattern: no pattern but I followed Frau Kirsche’s Tutorial.

Fabric: second-hand round tablecloth

Will I do it again? Yes, if the right table cloth comes along.

This is my first time participating at MeMadeMittwoch, this long admired parade of women wearing self-made clothes! 

Dieser Blogpost ist in Englisch. Ich lese und beantworte Kommentare aber gerne auch auf Deutsch.

The post Tabelcloth-Skirt first appeared on tamtamtiger.wordpress.com.

3 thoughts on “Tablecloth-Skirt

Leave a Reply

