Pink flower skirt

IMG_2328s

My newest wardrobe addition is this lovely light summer skirt – and I actually made and finished it thanks to the Sommer-Skirt Sew-Along on the MeMadeMittwoch blog. The fabric came from a friend and was actually intended for costumes for my son’s marionettes. But this piece of fabric was so big that it was enough for a skirt for Mama AND a dress for the marionette princess.

IMG_2335s

There is not much to be said about this skirt. I used the same Burda download pattern I have used previously (other realizations are here, here and here). Again, I sink-stitched the waistband using the special sewing foot and stitched the hem (once turned over) with an almost invisible seam using the same sewing foot.  I did try to match the pattern at the back seam and put quite a bit of effort into cutting out the pieces. But when I put in the zipper I forgot about it and then I didn’t want to undo everything again.  However, I feel that pattern is pretty forgiving – and Patrick is not judging. Also, the inside of the pockets, which I did in an other fabric, peeks out a bit. But the skirt  wears nicely – and I love it!

IMG_2339s

Pattern: Burda style 2 / 2010 download-pattern (BM1002 104). I made model B, but I adjusted the length.

Fabric: gifted cotton print

Will I do it again? I wonder when I will get sick of this sewing pattern. Anyhow, the next version is already sitting on my sewing table.

This is my contribution to RUMS!

Dieser Blogpost ist in Englisch. Ich lese und beantworte Kommentare aber gerne auch auf Deutsch.

The post Pink Flower Skirt first appeared on tamtamtiger.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

